Gotoh UPT Tuner w/ Optional Install

Gotoh UPT Tuner w/ Optional Install
$59.00
Price
Value
Quality
8 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

OR
Add Your Review

Customer Reviews 8 item(s)

8 Item(s)

Light weight tuners 4 ukuleles
Ordered these to replace the stock tuners (heavy) on my KALA SSTU-TE. Easy to install, look & work great, solved the uneven balance of my new ukulele.
Quality
Price
Value
Review by bobscher / (Posted on 3/13/2018)
John
Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn't show up. Grrrr well I'm not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say superb blog! decdfdecgkfdkcac
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Smitha568 / (Posted on 1/13/2017)
Just buy 'em
I'm a recent victim of ukulele acquisition syndrome. And as my collection has grown, I've discovered why these things make a difference. It comes down to those "almost there" minute adjustments. Y'know - when the tuner says you're just a tiny bit sharp or flat.

I've got four instruments and four different sets of tuners:
1) A uke with the usual geared tuners with buttons that stick out the sides
2) A uke with Gotohs
3) A uke with stock friction tuners
4) A uke with upgraded, geared Pegheads

The stick out the sides tuners and upgraded Pegheads have a little bit of play to them. The teeth in the gears must have little spaces, so it's possible to turn the button without the spindle and string moving. So when I try to get that final tuning, I have to overshoot by a lot, and then try to work my way back.

The stock friction tuners move immediately when you turn the button. And that's great, but I often overshoot when I'm just a little off. It's a by-product of the "friction" part of the name. When I overcome the friction, I've overtwisted and then I need to go back the other way.

The Gotohs are the best of both worlds. Like the friction tuners, they move immediately. And since they're geared, any over-rotation with your fingers doesn't move the spindle as much.


Value
Quality
Price
Review by Marc / (Posted on 10/8/2016)
Amazing and jewel-like
I put a set of these on my 1920s Slingerland Maybell banjo uke. At the same time I converted to the "red" strings. It is like having a new instrument. The fitting was easy, but lengthy as I use a reamer to enlarge the holes. The head on the Slingerland is much smaller than on the average uke but these were just right. The easy and accuracy of these is amazing - not surprising as I use Gotoh planetaries on some of my banjos. The strings too are a great improvement on my older New Nylgut Aquilas. I ordered them from these folk as I likes their site and had a good conversation with them before buying. They worked with me when what I ordered was out of stock and I am thrilled with the service. Thank you.
Price
Value
Quality
Review by Ian / (Posted on 7/10/2015)
These fit 2012 Kamaka Tenor (HF-3) peg holes without reaming.
RE: Gotoh UPTL Tuners, I ordered these to replace the original and troublesome Schaller guitar style tuners on my Kamaka Tenor (HF-3), manufactured in January 2012. I expected to have to ream the peg holes, but surprisingly, the holes are big enough without any additional widening. I did have to notch a tiny area of the hole for the very, VERY small gripping spike, but I used a narrow Xacto-type razor blade craft knife for that. There really should be TWO spikes on the tuners, in my opinion. However, everything fits, even though these UPTL tuners, the longer version, seem a bit short; my Kamaka's headstock is a half inch thick. One complaint I have is that the tuner post is rather small, and that means the hole that the string passes through is smaller than the hole on the guitar style tuners. Therefore, some heavier strings can not be run twice through the hole, as some of us like to do. As to tuning, so far, so good. Very quick (a little slower would be preferred, actually) and they seem to hold tune. I haven't had them long enough to describe durability. They look good, but as a retrofit they don't conceal the tiny screw holes left from removing the original tuners. One can fill the screw holes with filler or wood putty from a luthier supply shop, a toothpick, etc., or just leave them as is. The holes are barely noticeable. FWIW, my Kamaka has only one tiny screw hole per original tuner. The little washer-like trim rings that appear on the face of the headstock are smaller than the original items, so a change to these tuners may allow indentations from the original trim rings to show. Again, not a big concern and the indentations are noticeable only if you look for them. These are pricey compared to guitar style tuners, but, overall, they look good, fit, and seem to work, even if they are a bit quick. I considered the pricey Waverly friction tuners that use a loaded spring, and those are likely higher quality, but these are priced a bit less and have gears. I hope they last. FWIW, my Kamaka is a golden Koa, so I bought the gold tuned bodies with the white Pearloid buttons. The buttons are actually quite similar to the buttons on the original tuners. On another note, it took about an hour to remove the old tuners and install the Gotohs on my Kamaka, but I was slow and careful. I would have rated these tuners higher if the posts had been thicker, with more standard-sized (larger) holes, and if they'd had two spikes on the tuner bodies. I like them, but they could have been better. Unfortunately, there aren't a lot of competitors manufacturing geared ukulele pegs. I wish Waverly would make some!
Price
Value
Quality
Review by Jerry / (Posted on 6/10/2015)
Easier tuning
I replaced the stock tuners that came on my Pono soprano, and it now tunes up and stays in tune, like a dream. I had to purchase a reamer from a luthier supply company, and the reamed holes took the UPTs perfectly. I have a 1960s baritone made by Favilla, and a soprano made by Harmony (my first ukulele...in 1962). I'm going to order UPTs for them both.
Price
Value
Quality
Review by Tenor Chick / (Posted on 4/23/2015)
Favorite tuner EVER!
Had these put on my Gretsch 9110SM when ordered. These are super easy to fine tune, hold great, and look really good. I love them so much I'm having them put on my Cordoba and Gretsch tenors as well. I think it just adds to a classic look for a ukulele.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Jerr / (Posted on 11/25/2013)
Amazing Difference!
I personally replaced the stock Schallers on my Kamaka HF-2 recently. I can't say enough about how much better they are compared to the Schallers. They are more than worth every penny of the cost, and if you have them installed by HMS on a new purchase you'll not be sorry. I'm just bummed because they're out of the Ivoroids right now. I need another set for my HF-1 !
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Slingblab Mohair / (Posted on 7/20/2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Gotoh UPT Tuner w/ Optional Install

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Price
Value
Quality