Pono MB - Mahogany Baritone (Special! Free Oahu Hard Case)

Pono MB - Mahogany Baritone (Special! Free Oahu Hard Case)

Regular Price: $559.00

Special Price: $447.00

Value
Quality
Price
17 Review(s)

Availability: Out of stock

Add Your Review

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 17

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
So Happy With My Pono
I have both a Kala Acacia Baritone and a Pono Mahogany Baritone. The Kala has a nice warm and more subdued sound, and I like it a lot. I have to say though, the Pono has the most guitar-like sound, and I can’t seem to put it down! I’m definitely an intermediate beginner. The Pono motivates me to keep playing! I just play my normal ukulele chords and songs. The Pono is rich, deeper, and vibrant.
Price
Value
Quality
Review by Daria / (Posted on 5/11/2019)
Excellent
Mature beginner (“old guy”) that wanted a high quality, steadfast instrument. Went with Pono. They delivered. Did such a wonderful job, this Co. knows how to do it right! Had to go back for seconds. MGB, and recently an MG. Thanks Joel and Billy.
Price
Value
Quality
Review by k.rotz. / (Posted on 4/26/2019)
I love this ukulele! Buy it! Thanks to the people at HMS!
Beautiful baritone ukulele! Sound projects well and it was setup with low action, just the way I like it. Barre chords are a breeze! Instrument plays very well!
Price
Value
Quality
Review by Becky / (Posted on 5/23/2016)
My First Baritone
HMS, as usual, delivered an excellent instrument. The intonation is excellent. The finish is perfect. I've been playing minor chord folk songs and old school jazz standards most of the afternoon, and boy does this baby enhance my meager talents. The MB is the epitome of mellow. The build is balanced, but I would still recommend using a strap. The Mahana strings are giving me the sound I was craving. After drifting from store to store, playing a wide variety of baritones (laminate, solid top, and solid wood, Kalas and Cordobas), as well as scouring YouTube for videos, I concluded the MB was by far the best choice, assuming I didn't go full bore K-brand. And yes, I ordered through HMS because I wanted the set-up.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Middle-Aged Ukulele Lad / (Posted on 10/16/2014)
cant go wrong with a pono from HMS
Very beautiful, rich sound from this baritone. Nice bell like tone when finger picked and nice deep full sound when strummed. The neck is comfortable size and shape, not too chunky or slender, just right! The setup was perfect, low action and so easy to use, no sharp edges.

I wasnt overly fond of the strings that came with it but I found that once I put some flourocarbon strings on it and used the aluminum wound Koolau C string from a tenor set as the G, then it really had the sound I was looking for.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by tim / (Posted on 7/24/2014)
Great Quality and Price
Great Service from http://www.theukulelesite.com and Pono have produced a superb Baritone Ukulele at a great Price
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Dunn / (Posted on 7/16/2013)
Great intonation, build quality and sound and the Pono pickup is one of the most natural sounding pickups I've ever tried on a uke.
I've owned several other baritone ukes over the years, including Lanikai and Kala which are nice sounding baritones in their own right, but this Pono MB Baritone is definitely a step up. The intonation is excellent! And this uke really resonates with a nice warm, clear tone. One area where you notice a difference between this baritone and some of the less expensive ones is when you start playing up the neck. Its easier to play bar chords up the neck on the Pono and have the notes remain clear and punchy with the intonation staying spot on.

I had HMS install the Pono passive barione pickup. The sound is the most natural sounding ukulele pickup I've ever heard. This passive pickup blows away the cheap active pickups installed on my lower end ukes. I use it with a Roland AC-33 acoustic guitar amplifier and I get plenty of volume and tone with it. I'm very happy with this purchase and with the HMS setup.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Christopher / (Posted on 12/30/2012)
Beautiful Tone
I got the Pono MB this last fall on an impulse, and I lliked it so much I asked my wife for a Pono Tenor for Christmas. I couldn't be happier. It came in a terrific hard shell case that fits it like a glove. It has a nice satin finish, quality tuners, and was set up and in perfect tune when I took it out of the case. The solid mahogany doesn't disappoint. Both the feel and the rich full tone of this instrument exceeded my expectations. My buddy plays a Gibson acoustic, and he was blown away by the quality construction and wonderful sounds coming out of this "ukulele". I had him try it out so I could have a better listen, and five minutes later this guitar purist was seriously considering getting one for himself. It is fun to play, and would make a great travel "guitar" or starter guitar for a child. Or a really nice Baritone Uke.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by BBert / (Posted on 12/26/2012)
Very Nice Ukulele
I love this uke. :-) I has a nice mellow tone. Good quality, clear sound from low notes to high. The best part is the ease of play. Takes very little pressure on the fret board to get notes and chords.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by obandt / (Posted on 12/26/2012)
Beautiful Quality
Baritone is the way to go. Pono is the way to go. I spent months researching ukuleles through websites, personal interviews, online reviews, videos, and blogs, all of which pointed me to the Pono MB Baritone. Why choose baritone? It's a unique sound and look that will captivate your audience's attention. It's also a two-in-one ukulele. The baritone tuning is similar to the higher strings of a guitar (DGBE), just add a capo on the 5th fret and the tuning is now a tenor ukulele (GCEA). This is perfect for performing.

I have now had this ukulele for two years. It has held up through my band's travels and consistent schedule. It has stayed true to sound (especially with Ko'olau Mahana Baritone Strings). Keep it humidified! These ukuleles come from the enriched humidified land of Hawaii - going from Hawaii to Colorado can effect the ukulele, especially without humidification. The Pono MB Baritone is the way to go. I have done the research for you, this ukulele is hard to beat.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by samgoldenmusic / (Posted on 12/25/2012)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Pono MB - Mahogany Baritone (Special! Free Oahu Hard Case)

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Price
Value
Quality