Kala Solid Spruce Top Concert Gloss (KA-SCG)

Kala Solid Spruce Top Concert Gloss (KA-SCG)

Regular Price: $229.99

Special Price $169.99

Price
Value
Quality
12 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

OR
Add Your Review

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 12

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Best for the money
I own it, it’s wonderful!
Value
Quality
Price
Review by Matt / (Posted on 4/1/2019)
Great Uke, Great setup, great service
After playing a laminated mahogany concert for a year I wanted to move up. I did a lot of research on the Internet and kept coming back to HMS, because of their reputation for service and excellent setups. I ordered my KALA KA-SCG from HMS in January of this year. Andrew, Joel, and Aaron were very helpful. I described the way I play in an e-mail to Joel and when the KALA arrived the setup was right on. I wasn't prepared for how bright and loud the KA-SCG would be. It's the spruce top and the Aquila Super Nylgut strings. I swapped out the Aquilas for less bright strings and the more I play this little jewel, the more I love it. The action is terrific, the sustain is great and it has no intonation problems. Did I mention the neck is super fast. The finish is beautiful – the urethane looks like it's 1/4” deep. This is a great Uke. It has made me a better player. Thanks HMS. When I'm ready for that Pono I'll be back.
Quality
Price
Value
Review by jsheed / (Posted on 4/26/2017)
It's worth every penny
Plays awesome. Good sound. Easy to play
Value
Quality
Price
Review by B-rax / (Posted on 12/21/2015)
Great ukulele
So I did a lot of research before I bought a ukulele. I already had a 30$ saprano and I want to upgrade. When it came in I was really happy and it looked and and play amazing. Play it every night and love playing for my friends. These guys know what they are doing so don't worry about ordering online because they will take care of you. So glad I bought this and I'm definitely going to buy from this website more.
Price
Value
Quality
Review by CG / (Posted on 9/2/2015)
Sweet Little UKULELE
I have tried for years to get my daughter to play an instrument. Bought her a really nice Baby T a few years back. She has even plucked at a cheap little ukulele. NOTHING has sparked the fever. Until now . The feel , playability and sound of this ukulele is nothing short of fine. I can't say enough about the quality and the smoothness of play. Great setup, no buzz, intonation is dead on. I was told by my daughter just three days before that she had no interest at all in learning to play. That so change when she strummed the little gem. There was this change in her eyes and face like awwwww. Saw her today and she is complaining about her fingers being sore. Great deal, great sound, and so smooth. Buy one you can't go wrong.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Georg / (Posted on 11/25/2014)
Amazing!
This is my second ukulele, and my first serious one. My father bought this to me after i had been playing on a cheap ukulele for over a year. I Love it very much.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by A / (Posted on 10/25/2013)
An excellent first uke
This was the first uke I bought. It loved it as soon as I held it. It was so easy to play, and was set up just right. Plus it sounded good when I sat in front whikle somone who really knew how to play played it.

No regrets on this one for a first uke!

Quality
Value
Price
Review by Gillian / (Posted on 12/31/2012)
Warm, sweet, bright tone
Kala's solid spruce top concert is a step-above the entry level ukulele, great for the serious beginner, even better for the intermediate musician. As noted by another reviewer, the neck is on the narrow side, making it easier for me, at least, to play barre chords (my hands are on the small side). The solid spruce top produces a tone warm and bright and with good sustain. Possibly due to the set-up provided by HMS, the intonation is more than acceptable. Another reviewer mentioned seeing glue along the neck joint, mine has no such issues. Mine is smooth as silk, with a light, silky smooth finish. All in all, I could not be more pleased.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Cynthia / (Posted on 12/25/2012)
Nice for small hands
This was my first real uke and I still pick it up though it has become my 7 year old son's. The tone is loud and clear, sustain is decent and the workmanship is very good for the price. The neck is quite narrow so small hands will like it though new players with large hands (like me) may have a hard time as the G and A strings are easy to push right off the edge if you aren't careful. Mine came with Aquila strings which is a great match as it can have quite a bit of volume with this combo. Overall, a great uke for a new player with small hands and limited budget.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by colin / (Posted on 12/23/2012)
Excellent value for the price
I still have this ukulele... even if I now have much more expensive models. The spruce is nicely figured the build is great for a production model (even if you can see some glue along the neck joint. The intonation and action is average but good enough for me (I usually wince on cheaper models from Kala, but not on this one). All in all excellent value for the money !
Quality
Value
Price
Review by xyz / (Posted on 12/23/2012)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Kala Solid Spruce Top Concert Gloss (KA-SCG)

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Price
Value
Quality