Pono MBD - Mahogany Baritone Deluxe (Special! Free Oahu Case)

Pono MBD - Mahogany Baritone Deluxe (Special! Free Oahu Case)

Regular Price: $659.00

Special Price: $527.00

Price
Value
Quality
12 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

OR
Add Your Review

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 12

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Another hit from HMS
I just got my MBD and it's the perfect complement to my MTD-SP. The instrument is beautiful and of course with the HMS setup, it plays like a dream. Added MISI pickup; adds a new dimension to my playing. New Oahu ABS case fits like a silk glove and protects like Ft. Knox.
Value
Quality
Price
Review by Daniel / (Posted on 10/7/2016)
Great little instrument!
I’m probably the wrong guy to be reviewing a quality ukulele. My experience is pretty limited, but I really like this little box, so here goes anyway:

I do play some 5-string banjo (clawhammer), and years ago I played a couple of reed instruments professionally (until I wised up) .

More recently, I’ve been experimenting with a couple of lower-end ukus just for fun. I’ve never even seen a high quality ukulele close up, so it is hard for me to compare. I picked this particular instrument because of the reviews, and because it has a truss rod (A must in my mind).

That being said, this is a really fun and comfortable instrument to play. …attractive, great tone, superb low end, and well balanced over its entire range.

To me, though, the best feature is its responsiveness. It plays with such a light touch that sometimes, while picking it softly in front of the TV, I get the feeling that if it was just slightly more responsive, one could play it with mind power alone. It is a great stress reliever. I’m not sure whether it’s the design, the construction, the materials, or the quality set-up, but all put together, it certainly works. Great instrument—I’m sold on Pono. I might try a Pono tenor uku next. Right now I’m looking at a Pono RT-s.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by oy B. / (Posted on 3/19/2014)
See Me Grinning!
I received my new Pono MBD a few weeks ago and I am so delighted! A simple, but classic, looking instrument but the sound!...warm, mellow, harmonic, rich! Hawaii Music Supply, Andrew and all the gang handled a special request with ease. They installed the wonderful Pono Passive Pick-up and set the instrument up beautifully and its very playable. It looks great with the beautiful mahogany and commands an understated presence. I couldn't be happier! Thanks to Hawaii Music Supply and the Ukulele Site!
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Michael / (Posted on 2/13/2013)
Very satisfying!
I bought this as a gift for a friend. It sounds stupendous, really rich and warm. It's too big for me to play, sadlly, but I would buy one for myself if I could play it.

It's also beautifully made and the gloss finish sparkles.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Gillian / (Posted on 12/31/2012)
Love this bari!!
This uke has made me very happy! I have a lesser quality baritone that sounds very muddy. I was using it in my music programs that I do with children, and just couldn't stand the sound of it anymore. I decided to purchase the Pono MBD, and I have been thrilled with the sound! I now use this uke for my programs, but also for playing just for myself for the sheer pleasure of hearing it's lovely tones!
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Peg / (Posted on 12/30/2012)
Loved it enough that I want it's "cousin" ABD, too!
Mine is a second that I purchased a few weeks ago. It took me quite a while to figure out what made it a second, and of course it didn't affect the playability or sound.

So, how is the uke? This is an excellent ukulele and I would have been quite happy with it even at the regular price, let alone the deal I got on the second. If some ABD seconds don't show up soon I will probably have to break down and purchase an ABD at full price. I want to string the ABD reentrant (high-D) and keep this one in standard baritone tuning.

That speaks a lot for how good this ukulele is, that I want to keep it in standard tuning - usually I am not satisfied with the tone on the low-D string of baritones but this body manages to resonate down there quite nicely. I bought this expecting to restring it reentrant. The best way I can describe this uke is that the response is balanced even down to the open low-D - without getting "sloppy" there the way some baritones do. As a guitar player I tend to think of this as my "little, comfortable guitar" because it is in that linear tuning. LOL (Actually, it sounds much better than my classical guitar, now that I think about it.)

The Ko'Olau strings that came on it I am not quite as enthusiastic about. Actually, the low-D is not bad aside from being typically squeaky. The G seems even squeakier than usual for a wound string but to be fair it could be my imagination and my disdain for wound strings and the fact that I know a wound string really isn't necessary for the G.

Interestingly, the unwound strings exhibit some of the same temperature sensitivity that I've noticed with the Ko'Olau Gold strings (going sharp as they warm up the first few minutes of playing). On the Ko'Olau Gold strings I live with that because I adore the tone but I am not especially fond of the tone of these unwound strings. Also, since only two of the four strings are changing the tuning drift shows up much more obviously on the baritone than it does on my Ko'Olau Gold-strung sopranos.

I will probably end up using the fluorocarbon strings on the G,B, and E that I've used on other baritones and that leaves me needing only the single wound string for the D.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by John / (Posted on 12/29/2012)
Excellent Baritone!
I have always played the Tenor but I found myself craving a baritone after playing a friends one day. I have a few Pono ukes and a Koolau and I rate the company very highly so I decided to invest in the MBD. On receiving the uke I was initially impressed with the aesthetics of the intrument. The best and most important thing about this uke is the sound. It has a rich chime to it and strung with some Alohi strings really brought this out. I always turn to the Baritone if I've had a stressful day as the sound always chills me out! To sum up, very nice looking Ukulele with an excellent tone for a reasonable price. Superb!
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Mik / (Posted on 12/26/2012)
Super value
This is a stunningly beautiful sounding baritone which far exceeds its price point. I've played several other higher priced ukuleles and would have difficulty concluding that they sound better. And the build quality of this reasonably priced Pono is excellent. Count me very satisfied.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by obert / (Posted on 12/26/2012)
An excellent mid-range Baritone!
I own a factory second of this uke, and seeing as through HMS you're getting a better item and a second set of eyes and ears checking and running setup on this you're getting a heck of a deal! This uke is beautiful and has a wonderful sound! The finish is excellent as well.

If you want a baritone in this price range, this is THE one to get! (Assuming you like a gloss finish.)
Quality
Value
Price
Review by The Orange Mag / (Posted on 12/24/2012)
first ukelele
i made the jump from guitar to ukulele with this. chords in same place. it could not be easier four string four fingers. i got with a pickup and its great plugged into a trace acoustic amp. built right and price right you cannot go wrong with this uke.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by ayn / (Posted on 12/23/2012)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Pono MBD - Mahogany Baritone Deluxe (Special! Free Oahu Case)

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Price
Value
Quality