Islander - Tenor Mahogany - MT-4

Islander - Tenor Mahogany - MT-4

Regular Price: $165.00

Special Price $138.00

Price
Value
Quality
26 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

OR
Add Your Review

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 26

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Great sound
Bought mine at Cosmo Music Toronto, prepped just right. Terrific sound for the price, matter of fact like the sound better than many of the more expensive ukes I tried. Sure there's no fancy inlays or exotic finish, but who cares? It's the sound that counts. Great sustain and projection for a laminate and stays in tune.
Value
Quality
Price
Review by Bob / (Posted on 12/7/2016)
Sweet Uke
I ordered this uke from HMS a few months ago. It was a bargain. Very nice set up. It sounds like a little dream. It is easy to play. I have a hard time putting it down. I highly recommend it and HMS.
Price
Value
Quality
Review by Wayne / (Posted on 6/6/2015)
love it, sort of
I purchased one at a higher price about a month and a half ago.
I love playing it, just wish I didn't have to look at it.

The finish is not what I am used to with my 3 other ukuleles.
Even my least expensive Cordoba 15CM is much more attractive.
The Islander MT-4 has grain "pits" all over the Mahogany surfaces - I know beauty is in the eye of the beholder - but I find it ugly.

I know it is relatively inexpensive but the two sides don't even come close to matching at the bottom of the ukulele and that joint is slightly depressed.
Also, the heel and the heel cap are part smooth and part indented - lack of quality control?.
There are several, what I think, are tiny air bubbles in the finish on the back of the neck which are distracting to feel once you notice they are there.

I it hard for me to rate price and value because the appearance is so off-putting to me. I play it a lot and enjoy it as a musical instrument. As a piece of art it leave me cold.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by John / (Posted on 10/21/2014)
love it, sort of
I purchased one at a higher price about a month and a half ago.
I love playing it, just wish I didn't have to look at it.

The finish is not what I am used to with my 3 other ukuleles.
Even my least expensive Cordoba 15CM is much more attractive.
The Islander MT-4 has grain "pits" all over the Mahogany surfaces - I know beauty is in the eye of the beholder - but I find it ugly.

I know it is relatively inexpensive but the two sides don't even come close to matching at the bottom of the ukulele and that joint is slightly depressed.
Also, the heel and the heel cap are part smooth and part indented - lack of quality control?.
There are several, what I think, are tiny air bubbles in the finish on the back of the neck which are distracting to feel once you notice they are there.

I it hard for me to rate price and value because the appearance is so off-putting to me.

I play it a lot and enjoy it very much as a musical instrument. As a piece of art it leave me cold.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by EMudgeSr / (Posted on 10/17/2014)
Great tenor uke
Just received the MT-4 uke from HMS. Great setup and love the "low g" tuning. The sound grows on you. Great value with the hard case. Workmanship on this unit is more than I expected. Many thanks to Andrew on helping me decide on this uke.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by on / (Posted on 4/15/2013)
It's Okay but not great!
This is a well built Uke, but with low-g it's very muddy. The neck's on these are great and that's why I bought it. This is a great deal with the case and a great player... but not with a low-g.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Scot / (Posted on 2/27/2013)
Great sound but minor flaws
I had heard a lot of good things about the Islander so I decided to buy one sight unseen. I love the sound and feel of the instrument, it is a big sound with great tone and it really stands out. I went with low G tuning and it was a good choice for this uke. The only disappointment is in the finish. My uke must have slipped through the quality control as it appears to be delaminating around the lower bout, very rough and I have had a few small splinters. International freight charges made it uneconomic to return it so I am stuck with it. I am going to hand sand the rough part with very fine grade sandpaper and refinish that area with a good quality furniture varnish. I'd still be prepared to buy another (higher end) Islander though as the sound is magnificent.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by od Iffinger / (Posted on 2/1/2013)
Great sound, excellent value!
I've had this uke about a year now and it's awesome! Bright sound, good build and awesome value. Cannot go wrong. I would buy again in a heartbeat! Great for beginner or seasoned pro alike.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Nick / (Posted on 12/30/2012)
Fabulous Starter Uke
After getting hooked on the uke with a cheap soprano, this was the first quality uke I bought. I've had it almost a year now and just love it. It feels very good. The sound still blows me away. Great sustain. I've tried many other ukes at our uke group and in stores and this one really hold its own even against more expensive ones. You cannot go wrong in this one, especially in this price range.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Glen / (Posted on 12/29/2012)
expect to be pleasantly surprised
I'm not easily surprised these days, but this sweet tenor uke did it!
The feel of the instrument and finger friendly neck made it a joy to handle. Even though a laminate, the sound projected nicely, held it's intonation well, and had a lovely warmth and clarity.
The value, for this price, is quite extraordinary and the good folks at HMS are a pleasure to do business with!
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Sall / (Posted on 12/29/2012)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Islander - Tenor Mahogany - MT-4

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Quality
Price
Value