Pono MT - New Mahogany Tenor

Pono MT - New Mahogany Tenor

Regular Price: $499.00

Special Price: $399.00

Quality
Price
Value
46 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

OR
Add Your Review

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 46

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
A great choice
I have this Uke for a little more than a year now, it is a great musical instrument, up to that point it was the best Uke i have owned by miles, well worth the price. the setup was great, i play it with a Low G and i love it!
Price
Value
Quality
Review by Dave / (Posted on 5/9/2019)
Absolutely amazing ukulele! Great turnaround for a full setup and great customer service!
After talking to one of the guys in set up about the turnaround time for a full setup, I ordered my Pono mt tenor on February 27th and received it on March 14th. I was totally put at ease, decided to be patient and went for the full setup. Man am I glad I did!! This Ukulele is truely awesome. It looks amazing and sounds absolutely beautiful! This is my first Pono. I’ve been a guitar play for 35 years and My Pono is built much better then I could have ever imagined. Thank you ukulele site and especially, thank you to the craftsman that set it up for me. I was worried about how it would be when I got it, since it traveled all the way to Ohio for me. But I’m sold on ukulele site, sold on Pono and will buy only from you guys in the future. Thank you so much!!
Value
Quality
Price
Review by Jason / (Posted on 3/14/2019)
I love this ukulele
I have had this ukulele for several months now and am super pleased with it. Somewhat new to the uke, I also have the spruce top Kala travel soprano, which I still really like, but this one sounds so much more like a real musical instrument. The depth and consistency of sound is fantastic, and it's felt great to play since the first moment I picked it up. (I wasn't sure what to make of the whole "expert setup" thing, but it sure is easy to play, with extra forgiving frets.) And I had tried out, among others, Kala's acacia tenor and the Cordoba 30T in a local store and was not sure about buying an instrument online, but I'm glad I went for it. I don't notice the supposed thick neck, and the spacing of the strings is very comfortable (not too wide, as I find the Cordoba). I ordered some different strings for it, but Aaron suggested at least giving the stock strings a chance, and I even like those, too. Very different from the Aquila strings I know and like, and also very nice. I think my Kala does a much better job of giving me a stereotypical uke sound, but this Pono is so rich and beautiful that I hardly ever play the poor Kala anymore. Love the Pono!!
Quality
Price
Value
Review by Liberty / (Posted on 7/27/2016)
Buy this for a personal beautiful sounding instrument
I have had the MT Pono for a few months and love it. The sound is very sweet and intimate. It is a very personal instrument. I chose the MT after Aaron recommended it for the warm sound. Since I play with my thumb and forefinger, this was a perfect choice. I ordered it with the LR Baggs pick-up and that was an excellent choice. This uke is quiet and is overwhelmed by a group of singing people, other instruments or ukes. With my Baggs pick-up and a small amp, it fills in beautifully. You don’’t even need a pre-amp to translate this great sounding Ukulele. The staff of The Uke Store was excellent with a great set-up. My wife bought me a concert uke for Christmas which had an intonation problem When I took it back and mentioned it to the store owner, he said “Don’t worry about it, no one will know” (I do) and would not do anything about it. He lost all my future business, (amps, music strings straps etc) and any referrals that might come his way. I would recommend this Uke if you are interested in a quiet beautifully sounding instrument. Do not buy from anyone else, this guys know Ukes!

Daniel
Price
Value
Quality
Review by Daniel / (Posted on 8/21/2015)
Excellent Value, Tone and build quality.
I purchased this Uke in June of 2015 from HMS. It was great tone and intonation all up and down the keyboard. This is no doubt a result of the expert setup procedures for which HMS is famous.
The UKE is a joy to play and I thank for HMS and PONO for making such a wonderful instrument available at a reasonable price!
Aloha!
Price
Value
Quality
Review by RSK / (Posted on 7/12/2015)
My first ukulele !
It brought a big joy in my life it is my first love !
Maybe i can't appreciate it fully because it is my first ever ukulele and I'm not so in music, but boy this thing is just AWESOME !

Aloha and Mahalo :)
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Zaza / (Posted on 5/19/2014)
Terrific instrument!
I bought the Pono mahogany tenor a couple months ago. I wish I'd gotten it a long time ago. The quality of construction, sound, ease of playing, and appearance are just super. Never having played a tenor, I didn't realize how much easier it made the left hand. Having a little more room for the fingers makes chording much easier, especially barre chords. The result is a cleaner sound. I'm also playing more, since this is such a joy to play, and my playing has improved as a result. The setup by HMS was great, and I don't think it could be improved upon. I love the simple, elegant appearance, too. There's no b.s. about this instrument. You play it. It sounds great. Mine is strung low-G, and it sounds very warm and mellow. The folks at HMS do a great job and are a wonderful resource. My next instrument will come from here too.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by hm99 / (Posted on 2/22/2014)
Pono MT - Solid Uke
I'm a guitar player that decided to give playing the uke a try. Was recommended by the guys from Hawaii Music Supply to go with a Tenor.

Checked out their web site and really liked what the Pono MT had to offer. This uke actually has an adjustable truss rod and this was one of the selling points for me.

Went down to the Haleiwa shop to check out the Pono MT and AT ukes in person. The MT with all solid mahogany construction is warm and mellow while the AT with solid acacia construction is very bright.

I really like the warmer and mellower tone of the Pono MT so I ended up buying it. For the price, this uke can't be beat. It does not have a lot of bling going for it but in my opinion, there is beauty in simplicity.

When you pick this uke up you can feel its solid construction, especially in the neck. The neck is very beefy and feels great with the satin finish.

The set up is great as all of the frets were even and the action was set up perfect on the 12th fret.

It has a beefy neck but by no means is it hard to play. I'm a guitar player with fairly small hands and I have no trouble holding chords and moving up and down the fret board on this uke.

Within hours of brining this uke home I was learning some uke chords and actually strumming out a few songs. Totally satisfied with this uke as it makes learning how to play a real joy.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by J T / (Posted on 7/28/2013)
Should you buy this? Yeah, I think so
While this is a no frills instrument, that is exactly what makes it great. You can tell the focus was quality of construction. The sound and intonation is great, better than expected for this price range. The neck is comfortable, the wood grain is elegantly simplistic, and the body depth seems to me deeper. The wood grain surprises me the most on this instrument, unstained mahogany is beautiful and shows off the natural pattern of the mahogany (be careful cause it nicks easily, I recommend going MTD if you are a frequent traveler or panic when get dings/scratches).

It's worth the price because the setup, and because Pono is a step above the rest at this price point. You won't be disappointed. Recommend for: Everyone
Quality
Value
Price
Review by Winston / (Posted on 6/12/2013)
Love my Pono MT
This has taken care of my UAS! Sounds and plays beautifully! String it up with some Worth Clears and it takes the tone to a whole other level. Craftmanship and build are top notch. Feels like a "real" instrument, not a toy.
Quality
Value
Price
Review by legaliseit / (Posted on 5/31/2013)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Pono MT - New Mahogany Tenor

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Quality
Price
Value